North Carolina Suspended License Lawyers Defending Your Right to Drive
Experienced in restoring your driving privileges
Driving is a privilege that is earned through safe and lawful driving. Depending on which traffic or North Carolina state law you break, your driver’s license can be suspended. At Hatch Little & Bunn, L.L.P., our suspended license lawyers represent drivers facing suspension or those who have already lost their license. We take care of any North Carolina traffic violation.
We are ready to assist you at Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) hearings or on appeal or find ways to get you limited driving privileges or completely restore your driving privileges. We work hard to get you back on the road.
Common reasons for having a suspended license in North Carolina
There are many ways for you to lose your driver license. The DMV and the courts determine the level of penalties and fines depending on the nature of the violation:
- Accumulating 12 or more points for any moving traffic violation in any three year period —license suspension of up to 60 days
- Driving while impaired (DWI) — one year suspension for a first-time offender with fines, jail time and 24 hours of community service. A second DWI within three years of first DWI— license suspension of four years
- Not submitting to or failing a breath test, — one-year suspension
- Illegally transporting alcoholic beverages
- Speeding over 55 mph by at least 15 mph in a 1 year period — suspension of at least 30 days
- Driving recklessly or aggressively
- Committing manslaughter as a result of your driving with or without influence of alcohol or drugs — one year suspension
- Driving without auto liability insurance — 30-day suspension
- Driving with a suspended license or no license increases your suspension and possible imprisonment for up to five years
- Agreeing to a race on a public highway or watching or betting— license suspension of three years
- Failing to respond to a DMV notice or not appearing in court
- Obtaining a license or learner’s permit under false pretense — one year suspension
- Not paying traffic tickets, fines or surcharges
- Not paying child support
Our attorneys provide honest advice at every stage of your case to make sure you have realistic expectations. We are skilled negotiators ready to effectively navigate your defense.
Penalties for driving with a suspended license
Driving while your license is suspended can bring a Class 1 misdemeanor charge with a sentence that involves a fine and possible jail time. North Carolina courts decide on the amount of fine for a Class 1 misdemeanor. The jail sentence depends on whether you have previous convictions for driving after a suspension. Additional license suspension penalties include:
- One year for first offense
- Two years for second offense
- Permanent for third and subsequent offenses
- Possibly seizing your vehicle if you commit offense of DWI while driving with a suspended license
Contact us today to see how we can keep you
From our offices near the state capitol, Hatch, Little & Bunn, LLP has been providing comprehensive legal services to individuals in danger of license suspension or revocation in Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill, Research Triangle Park, Wake County and throughout North Carolina. Call 919-670-1411 today, or email the criminal team to schedule a consultation with one of our attorneys.